What I Wish I’d Known

Living Life as an Expat Parent

We are saving for a mortgage.  We are saving hard.  But I still struggle to predict when we’ll finally be in a position to buy our very first family home.  And that is disheartening.  No matter how long I live here, I will always be a foreigner and that has given me an aching desire to dig my heels in and create our home – our actual bricks and mortar home.  I long for it.  I cry about it sometimes.  And then I create crazy plans.  I have toyed with the idea of going on Deal or No Deal.  I would possibly be the first ever contestant to go out on the first offer.  £6000?  I’ll take it, Mr Banker!

The thing is – when I moved to the UK over eight years ago, I never expected to stay.

My life was in two suitcases.  I made no other plans. …

View original post 419 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

